My grandfather Nikola had been a POW in Germany for two years. My grandfather George was a well known partisan during the war. My grandmother Mara spent eight months in a notorious Jasenovac concentration camp, and she was pregnant with my uncle at the time. My parents had spent their childhoods in fear of German raids, hiding in forests, witnessing death and violence.

So many young people were killed by the Germans on both my mother’s and father’s side of the family, that there was almost no room in our family cemetery plots.

As a child, I grew up hearing innumerable stories about the war, reading books about the war, seeing and hearing traces of war in every experience of my family.

And then, when I was twelve, we moved to Germany…

Herr Deppermann, Gracious Living Day by Day

Novi Sad, 2010, Memorial to the victims of the January 1942 massacre, Gyula Sápi

