There’s a theory about communities called “Third Places.” After your home and your workplace comes the need for some social institution. The Irish had bars, the Italians had social clubs, but Jews had cafeterias in New York. They came to eat, but just as importantly to talk.

I met some amazing people during those days–people I ordinarily would never have had a conversation with over a cup of coffee–taxi drivers, “Cappy” the handicapper, widows, the men from the 10 a.m. “over-80 club,” a balloon seller, an ex-prize fighter. I do remember that during the day if someone wasn’t nursing a Danish and a 25-cent cup of coffee for hours the old joke was “mind my seat, I have to go home to eat.”

– Photographer , in an interview about her early series on Dubrow’s Cafeteria 

© Marcia Bricker Halperin. Dubrow's Cafeteria, 1979

The above photo, I believe, is from the Dubrow’s back in the old neighborhood on Kings Highway in Brooklyn. Right near the old D train stop on the BMT….where I bought my first pair of bell bottoms. Dubrow’s is gone…so are my bell bottoms…

Tweet.

[h/t to Jeremiah’s Vanishing New York…]

