…and the deconstructionists chime in….(see Building Blocks posted below):

Tablets, smartphones and other sophisticated technological products have made their way into the preschool, toddler and even the baby set. According to a new poll by Common Sense Media, close to 40 percent of 2- to 4-year-olds have used a smartphone, tablet or video iPod and 10 percent of children younger than 2 have.

“I’ve been seeing more and more electronics at the table,” says Mike Esposito, owner of Vittorio’s Restaurant & Wine Bar in Amityville. “It’s second nature now with parents. They settle into their seats, open their bags, and out come Leapfrog computers, iPod Touches, and iPads. I’ve noticed them watching TV shows like ‘Barney’ and playing video games. I don’t remember the last time I saw a parent with a coloring book or crayons.”

Kimberly Somers of Middle Island says her son, Bryson, who just turned 2 in September, loves to watch videos on her iPad and play with an app called “Zoo Train.”

She says even though she’s handing over a device that costs close to $500 to a toddler, she would prefer that to allowing him on her PC or laptop. “At this age I wouldn’t let him on my computer for fear that he’ll push something wrong and erase my whole hard drive.”

iPadding toddlers, by Beth Winehouse, Newsday, 11/23/2011

[Please do Bryson, please…this button right over here….]

