There comes those times when you’ve stirred up the muck at the bottom of the pond so badly you need to step back and let it settle for a while. Which is what I’ve been doing for the past couple of weeks.

No need to get into the details. A mentor of mine once said, after a particularly lengthy presentation, “don’t get naked in front of clients”. I understood that immediately and have carried that lesson forward for many years.

Confession is not necessarily something I’ve come here to do. I still offer my opinions much too freely at times. But I also believe that people have secrets – for reasons that remain their own – and should be allowed to keep them. A little bit of mystery in one’s life isn’t a bad thing.

In the very minor part I play on this stage, this also speaks to the larger question what is “art”, why create it, and why does it even exist. I write that sentence under the very possible and painful judgement of pretense. But I promise you it has nothing to do with that. It’s a bit more cosmic. I’m here for my own observations – not necessarily to submit to the observations of others. Although I admit with almost great embarrassment that commentary on those same observations bring absolute joy to my heart. And sometimes not. But being noticed for insights or errors can still be a life affirming moment. I can’t imagine a life always being met with silence.

Then again, maybe that’s the point of all these channels for posts and tweets, pins and tumbles. It’s something we’ve always desperately wanted to do and now have much broader platforms to do it in. Or maybe it’s the chicken and the egg question. Did we need it? Or were we just waiting for greater minds to discover and offer it?

Still no need to get naked. Or give up that secret…

pepper post groomingSometimes even Old Pepper wonders why…
© Jeff Kopito

