Over the past few weeks, I’ve discovered a new use for my Droid.

I only have commercial radio in my car – The Brunette lucks out with XM in hers – so I’m limited to ten minute loops on local news programs, head pounding music that’s just a bit early for my morning tastes, or Don Imus. So I downloaded an NPR Player app which gives me access to programs I love but don’t get a chance to listen to – Selected Shorts, Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me, A Prairie Home Companion, and one of my favorites, Car Talk.

Yesterday Tom and Ray Magliozzi – aka Click and Clack, The Tappet Brothers – hauled out their favorite similes and metaphors just before offering  their usual good-natured mechanical solutions and philosophy told in deep New England accents. I can’t tell you if these phrases are real, or manufactured just for their show, since these are two guys who have the most incredible fun at their job and belly laugh with their callers thru the entire hour. But here are a couple of samples they read out loud:

  • He fell for her like his heart was a mob informant and she was the East River.
  • The plan was simple, like my brother-in-law Phil. But unlike Phil, this plan just might work.
  • The ballerina rose gracefully en pointe and extended one slender leg behind her, like a dog at a fire hydrant.
  • He was deeply in love. When she spoke, he thought he heard bells, as if she were a garbage truck backing up.
  • She grew on him like she was a colony of E. coli and he was room-temperature Canadian beef.

Go see more here. And if you get a chance, listen to the show – you never knew fixing 1987 Volvos with brake problems could be that much fun!

tomandrayTom and Ray on the job…

