..what books are you taking on the road with you this holiday weekend?

8712804691_aa9224d06f_bJack Kerouac
photo: Wilbur T. Pippin
from everyday i show

The photo above is from the cover of Why Kerouac Matters: The Lessons of On the Road, by John Leland. Found the title when I searched for the photographer with no luck. So the plan was to pick up the book on my usual Friday visit to the local library. Had two other books on reserve, In the Shadow of the American Dream: The Diaries of David Wojnarowicz edited by Amy Scholder and the 2013 Penguin edition of Appointment in Samarra by John O’Hara. I waited for that particular edition of O’Hara’s book since it included an introduction by Charles McGrath, former editor of the The New York Times Book Review and former deputy editor of The New Yorker. I don’t remember exactly why it was important but I had to wait for that specific edition because someone on the internets had convinced me so and I’m particularly obsessive when it comes to books.

But I forgot to pull the Leland book out of the stacks.

So will have to go back again today…as if I didn’t have enough to read…

UPDATE – Photograph is by Wilbur T. Pippin. There are several other iconic shots of Kerouac by Pippin but I can’t find any further information about him. Now I’m intrigued… Journalist? Friend? Portrait photographer?

