S. Hope Mills wonders about putting the book down before it’s finished

When I think about what I’ve longed loved about reading, it’s the different worlds that scoop me up, my senses fully engaged. The writer, of course, is my guide, but I still have a role to play, too—I’m interacting with the information that’s been given to me. That’s what makes the deepest reading experience. And because this is my story now, too, I might be ready for closure sooner than another reader, sooner even than the author.

She goes on to quote writer Paul Auster:

Books are never going to die. It’s impossible. It’s the only time we really go into the mind of a stranger, and we find our common humanity doing this. So the book doesn’t only belong to the writer, it belongs to the reader as well, and then together you make it what it is.

I don’t finish books as often as I like…small sips and bites has been my style lately…now I don’t feel so guilty…

man-reading-at-sea Photo painting © Rosemary Sheel

