Staying with the film category for the moment…

Director John Krokidas talks to The Economist about the early lives of Kerouac, Ginsberg and Lucien Carr,  his subjects in the newly released beat-inspired film, Kill Your Darlings:

The daunting thing in taking on people who I admire was not to be overwhelmed by who they would become. I made a very conscious decision to focus on who they were at that particular point. Ginsberg was an awkward young guy, caretaker to a very ill mother (played by Jennifer Jason Leigh), and a dutiful son. He wasn’t a rule-breaker, not yet.

I remember Jack Huston (who plays Jack Kerouac) was overwhelmed his first day on set, saying “Oh my God, I’m playing Kerouac.” And I said  “Actually, you’re not. You’re playing a guy named Jack. He’s from Massachusetts, he’s at Columbia on a football scholarship, and he’s beginning to realise that he thinks the jocks are a bunch of phonies. He wants to have life experiences, he wants to write.”

The problem in seeing a film like this is coming to terms with the myths that you’ve created yourself around these iconic characters. I wonder if that in itself will be the true vulnerability of the film…

Currently in very limited release…which is possibly how it should be…

Additional trailers here

kerouac_carr_ginsbergJack Kerouac, Lucien Carr and Alan Ginsberg

*I can’t find the proper attribution for the above photo – but found it on a memorial page written by David Amram that also adds to the history…

