The Chinese launched moon rover Yutu (Jade Rabbit), is fatally breaking down after just a few weeks and writes of its own demise:

“Although I should’ve gone to bed this morning, my masters discovered something abnormal with my mechanical control system…My masters are staying up all night working for a solution. I heard their eyes are looking more like my red rabbit eyes….I’m aware that I might not survive this lunar night.”

“The sun has fallen, and the temperature is dropping so quickly… to tell you all a secret, I don’t feel that sad. I was just in my own adventure story – and like every hero, I encountered a small problem,” said the Rabbit.

“Goodnight, Earth,” it said. “Goodnight, humanity.”

jade rabbit“This is space exploration; the danger comes with its beauty.
I am but a tiny dot in the vast picture of mankind’s adventure in space.”
photo credit CASC/China Ministry of Defense

We give our machines lives and names…then mourn their passing.

What an odd race we are…

[h/t to Andrew Sullivan for the lead in…]

