seblester_yeats Cloths of Heaven
Based on the poem “Aedh Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven” by W.B. Yeats
Embroidered artwork by Seb Lester

From the artist’s statement:

“Yeats’s poem references ‘embroidered cloths’ and ‘gold and silver threads’, so I wanted to try to make the screen print look like an exquisite and timelessly beautiful piece of highly ornamental needlework. I’ve drawn from Medieval, Renaissance and 18th-century sources but I have also tried to integrate personal, progressive and irreverent flourishing ideas. The result is a hybrid stylistic treatment that I think could only exist in the 21st century.”

“In calligraphy I have found a joyful and visceral way to construct letterforms. The letters that appear before my eyes as I write have a warmth and humanity that is very hard to achieve with computers.”

Available as both print and embroidered artwork at the artist’s site.

More of the story and a video showing the hand drawn lettering and embroidery styles can be found at I Love Typography

Note – the poem was originally published in 1899 in the collection titled, The Wind Among the Reeds

[h/t for lead-in to poet Sarah J. Sloat at The Rain In My Purse…I don’t visit often enough…]

