I’m not going to say anything about the drop to 3 degrees last night – that number just doesn’t exist in my thermo-memory.

I’m not going to say anything about the small pry bar and screwdriver I needed to break open the car door since the rubber seals were frozen to the paint.

I’m not going to say anything about the water bottles that froze in our garage so solidly that I had to take two of them into the house and microwave them so I could take one to work and one to the gym.

I’m not going to say anything about that shattered cheap plastic zipper on my expensive winter coat so that the whole thing is now held together by even more poorly made velcro strips.

I’m not going to say that once again another winter rolls in and I still haven’t bought the proper hat and left the only one I have on the kitchen table because I just refuse to give in.

But I am going to say something about these wondrous anemone crystals that formed on the window of my car…winter does provide some things that make you forget and remember…

crystalscrystals on glass
[click for larger]
© Jeff Kopito

