From Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic:

quote5Look, I don’t know what’s hidden within you. I have no way of knowing such a thing. You yourself may barely know, although I suspect you’ve caught glimpses. I don’t know your capacities, your aspirations, your longings, your secret talents. But surely something wonderful is sheltered inside you. I say this with all confidence, because I happen to believe we are all walking repositories of buried treasure. I believe this is one of the oldest and most generous tricks the universe plays on us human beings, both for its own amusement and for ours: The universe buries strange jewels deep within us all, and then stands back to see if we can find them.

Generally, this is a feel-good book. Then again, I’m often accused of being overly judgmental – which I am. Hate being told things I already know…and don’t do much about. But sometimes it’s the right time. And this paragraph was the right one – needed a reminder that there’s still work to be done…

two men eating at a humble tableTwo Young Men Eating At A Humble Table
Diego Velazquez, artist
c. 1622

 

